top of page

Egyptian Gods


Role: Goddess of hunting and war; goddess of the East, protector of Duamutef (the son of Horus who watched over the canopic jar containing the stomach)

Appearance: Woman holding weapons and wearing either the red crown of lower Egypt or a shield with crossed arows on her head

Center of worship: Sais

Relations with other gods: Mother of Sobek


During the 26th dynasty, the capital of Egypt was at Sais, the city where the cult of Neith was based. Her popularity rose to the national level especially since she was a warlike goddess and Egypt had been fighting the Persians at the time.

Neith is also seen as a protector of the dead, along with Isis, Nephthys, and Selket. The four goddesses each protect one of the four sons of Horus, who in turn protect the canopic jars that contain the organs of the dead. The four of them are often carved into the corners of sarcophagi: King Tut's red quartzite sarcophagus is one such example.


Ammut • Amun • Anubis • Apedemak • Aten • Bastet • Bes • Geb • Hathor • Heqet • Horus • Isis • Khnum • Ma'at • Montu

Neith • Nekhbet • Nephthys • Nut • Osiris • Ptah • Re • Renenutet • Satis • Sekhmet • Selket • Set • Sobek • Shu • Taweret • Thoth

bottom of page