top of page

Egyptian Gods


Role: The sun itself

Appearance: Sun disc whose rays end with hands, each of which is holding an ankh to symbolize that the sun gives life.

Center of worship: Akhetaten


Concerned with the rising power of the priesthood of Amun, the pharaoh Akhenaten knocked them down a few pegs by declaring that that all the other gods of Egypt no longer existed, and that there was only one god, the Aten, and it was the sun itself. All the temples to the other gods were ordered closed and the priests were suddenly unemployed and powerless. To further isolate himself from the "old" religion, Akhenaten moved the capital from Thebes (the center of worship of Amun) to a brand new city called Akhetaten ("the Horizon of the Aten").


Ammut • Amun • Anubis • Apedemak • Aten • Bastet • Bes • Geb • Hathor • Heqet • Horus • Isis • Khnum • Ma'at • Montu

Neith • Nekhbet • Nephthys • Nut • Osiris • Ptah • Re • Renenutet • Satis • Sekhmet • Selket • Set • Sobek • Shu • Taweret • Thoth

bottom of page